Wiring my 1205 Stepper and A4983 Driver to Arduino Mega 2560

I bought a stepper motor, number 1205 and an A4983 Stepper Motor Driver Carrier with Voltage Regulators. I saw the diagram for the motor and the two diagrams with the labels on them for the driver board. They even have colored lines but I don’t understand them. I’m a real newbie.

Could you please tell me which colored wires from the motor, go to where on the board and if I have wires coming from the Arduino pins, where do they go?

Thanks

Hello.

For your stepper motor, the black and green wires make up the ends of one motor coil, and the red and blue wires make up the ends of the other motor coil, so one way to connect it would be:

1A and 1B connect to black and green (which goes to which does not matter)
2A and 2B connect to red and blue

As far as making connections to your Arduino, the simplest scenario requires two I/O lines from the Arduino (you can choose any lines you want), one connected to the motor driver’s STEP pin and the other connected to the DIR pin. Since your Arduino has a built-in regulator and is likely being powered separately, you do not need to connect 5 V (VDD) from the motor driver board to the Arduino, but you do need to make sure they have a common ground (i.e. connect GND from your Arduino to one of the GND pins on the motor driver board). Other than that, you should short the VDD pin to the 5V pin above it as shown in the motor driver’s simple connection diagram:

This powers the board’s logic. You will also need to connect a motor power source to VMOT and GND. Does this make sense?

You might also find this thread helpful: A4983 and A4988 Getting Started Guide

Please let me know if you still have questions.

- Ben

Yes this does make since. Thank you very much.