Two 36v4 drivers and two stepper motors

First off, I am very new to the world of steppers.
I have an arduino v3, two 36v4 Pololu stepper drivers and two Pololu #1478 stepper motors.

So far, starting with the example sketch in the Pololu 36v4 stepper library, I have been able to successfully wire-up one motor, power supply, driver and Uno. And to modify the code to change speed, direction and etc. as I wish.
The wiring was per TABLE 1.

Next I want to add the second driver and motor to my project. For this project, I need two motors, ( x and y axis ), two drivers and the arduino uno. For the end result, the motors will operate one at a time - at no time in the sketch will i need to operate both motors at the same time, nor will I need to change speed.
So I think I can wire them up per TABLE 2.

From Driver #2, I will only have 2 wires going directly to the Uno. (to address direction and distance) All the other wires ( ** ) will be spliced into the sister wire going from driver #1 to the uno.

Does this look like it will work if i wire it up ???

Thank you,
Dave

Hello, Dave.

Thank you for the clean tables showing how you are planning to connect everything. You should connect the SCS (SPI chip select) pins on the drivers to different Arduino pins so that the Arduino can communicate with each driver individually. Otherwise, your connections look fine.

- Patrick

PatrickM,
Thanks for reviewing the tables and your suggested change.
Below is the corrected Table 2.

PatrickM,

Dave C

That seems like it should be fine now. Good luck with your project!

- Patrick

Hi Dave,

I am trying to do a similar thing to you, and I have the same wiring ocnfiguration. My first attempt using two 36v4 drivers didn’t work and the second motor got very hot. I was pointed in the direction of chip selecting with the SCS pin.

This is where I saw this post, I have given this a go to no avail yet and wondered how you coded the two separate sd.chipselectpin().

Thanks in advance, Ben