Raspberry PI and TReX DMC01 with RC and serial

Hello,
First of all I want to state that I am rather new to robotics but I am eager to learn.
My plan is to build a robot truck that can perform various things. More features will be added to it, the more I learn. The plan, as I said is to build a remote controlled robot truck that is able to explore an area and map it using a GPS.

I will list the parts that I already own:

• chassis - Wild Thumper 4WD
  • motor controller - TReX DMC01
  • raspberry pi 3 B+
  • FlySky FS-i6 transmitter with FS-iA6B reciever
  • 1 LiPo 2S 5000MAh

The main issue right now is controlling the robot.

1. For starters, I sorta managed to get the thing up and running via RC and just the Trex. I connected the RC receiver to channels 1 and 2 and left the mix mode jumper on.
    On the RC reciever it’s connected to channels 1 and 3, because this way it allows me to control the robot with both sticks of the transmitter (LS - throttle with forward and reverse and RS - left and right). Now I am uncertain if this is a “healthy” way of controlling the robot. My main concern is that, let’s say I set the throttle to 50% forward, if I want to turn using the RS but moving the sticks to maximum, the speed of the motors will be overwritten for the motors on one side, and the motors on the other side will be spinning the other way.

2. I want to be able to control the robot via the RC, but when I flip a switch on the controller, it should go in to autonomous mode and be controlled by the Raspberry Pi… a feature like “return home” or go into “exploration mode” and avoid obstacles with the help of proximity sensors. Also, If I flip back the switch to be able to control it via RC.

3. Keeping the “requirements” from point 2, I was wondering if it would be easier to do this with a smartphone acting as a RC controller?

I have read 2 topics on the forum, but I did not understand most of it :slight_smile:

Hello.