Mini Maestro and VSA software functionality

Hi,

I am new to this so forgive my lack of knowledge. I did read the “getting help” post and everything I could find on these two products but am unclear on one point. Can I use Brookshire’s VSA software to control and program the Mini Maestro 12?

Thanks
Luke

Links:

VSA
brookshiresoftware.com/vsa_overview.htm

1 Like

Hello, Luke.

Yes, it is possible. If you search on this forum a little bit, you will find several threads about people getting their Maestro to work with VSA. VSA has some sort of feature for sending Mini-SSC protocol commands, and the Maestros support receiving those commands. Just make sure that you use the Maestro Control Center to change the Maestro’s Serial Mode to “USB Dual Port”. Then you need to look in the Device Manager to identify which COM port is the Meastro’s Command Port, and that will be the COM number that you should tell VSA to connect to.

–David

Thanks for the reply. I appreciate it.

Hi Folks,

STUCK! Had VSA and a Mini Maestro 24 working together well on a project about 6 months ago.

Now all attempts at getting them to cooperate are not working.

I’d love any tips you guys might have, I’ve stumped most people!

Here are the details:

Running from desktop PC Windows 7 OS (32 bit)

VSA Ultimate v5.001

Using Maestro 24 ( pololu.com/catalog/product/1356 )

Trying to drive a HITEC HS-5085MG digital servo (reset using HFP-20 HITEC programmer, only end limits were programmed into servos)

Power supply is a stable 6 VDC (measured during tests), 2A regulated supply. Same that was working on functional VSA / Maestro combo before

…so, not working…start troubleshooting…

TEST ONE

• downloaded Pololu’s serial transmitter and sent 0xff to Maestro. Perfect communication.
  • opened Maestro control and checked functionality there, Perfect servo control

…still not working with VSA though…so:

-Flipped Maestro settings to “dual Port” in USB, applied settings, closed control.