"Calibrating QTR-8RC sensors using arduino 2560 mega

Hello there,
I need some help with calibrating my 8 array sensors with my arduino 2560 micro-controller. I am a beginner when it comes to programming, so I picked this sensor because of the extensive library it has with arduino. as it turns out the calibrating program provided is not written for the mega 2560 but previous models. I worked on some code to try to get some reading from the sensors and I did but the values are just jumping which tells me the calibration is completely wrong. Can someone help me calibrate these sensors? here is the code I am using to get the values:

int s1, s2, s3, s4, s5, s6, s7, s8;

void loop() {

pinMode(42, OUTPUT);     //set sensor pins as digital pins and as output
  digitalWrite(42, HIGH);  //write a 1 to each sensor
  delayMicroseconds(10);  // delay for 10 us
  pinMode(42, INPUT);      //set digital pins as input to read sensors
  delay(2);
  s1 = digitalRead(42);

pinMode(44, OUTPUT);    
  digitalWrite(44, HIGH); 
  pinMode(44, INPUT);       
  delay(2);
  s2 = digitalRead(44); 

pinMode(46, OUTPUT);    
  digitalWrite(46, HIGH);
  pinMode(46, INPUT);
  delay(2);
  s3 = digitalRead(46);

pinMode(48, OUTPUT);    
  digitalWrite(48, HIGH);
  pinMode(48, INPUT);    
  delay(2);
  s4 = digitalRead(48);

pinMode(50, OUTPUT);    
  digitalWrite(50, HIGH);  
  pinMode(50, INPUT);    
  delay(2);
  s5 = digitalRead(50);

pinMode(52, OUTPUT); 
  digitalWrite(52, HIGH);
  pinMode(52, INPUT);
  delay(2);               //wait 2ms before reading
  s6 = digitalRead(52);

pinMode(51, OUTPUT); 
  digitalWrite(51, HIGH);
  pinMode(51, INPUT);
  s7 = digitalRead(51);

pinMode(53, OUTPUT); 
  digitalWrite(53, HIGH);
  pinMode(53, INPUT);
  s8 = digitalRead(53);

Hello.