VNH5019 Output doesn't go to 0V when PWM is 0V

Hi,

I’m new to motor drivers, and I think I might have a misconception about it. I’m trying to drive an actuator using the VNH5019 (in its non dual form). I want to apply a PWM signal and the output of the VNH5019 to go from 0 to the tension I put on VIN depending on the modulation width, in a more or less linear way.

I have:

• VDD to 3.3V and GND to 0V
  • VIN to 5.5V and its respective GND to 0V connected to a power supply (VDD and VIN don’t share the same GND, and the GND is floating)
  • Finally I have connected INA to 3.3V, INB to 0V

I observe:

• If I connect PWM to 3.3V, I have a spot-on tension of 5.5V between OUTB and OUTA
  • But If I connect PWM to 0V, I have a tension of 1.668V. If I increase VIN, this value increases also and it seems it is proportional
  • (If I apply a PWM signal, then I have a tension between 1.668V and 5.5V that seems to be proportional to the modulation width)

Is it normal? I was expecting that if I would connect PWM to 0V, I would have a tension of 0V between OUTB and OUTA.

Thanks for any information on that matter,

Raphael

Hello, Raphael.

Like other motor drivers, the output of the VNH5019 should vary approximately linearly between 0V and VIN based off of the duty cycle of the signal sent to the PWM pin. In reality, there might be some small negligible voltage (maybe measurable in the mV) across the outputs if the duty cycle of the PWM pin is zero, but it should definitely not be as high 1.6V.

In general for electronics like these, you should connect the grounds of your system together, and this could be the source of your issue. Also, it is not entirely clear what you mean when you say your ground is floating. Can you post a schematic diagram of your system?

-Jon

Hi Jon,

I won’t have the time to make schematic diagram of the system right now apart from what I describe with text, but I’ll do it later (end of the week).