VNH3SP30 Operation

Greetings

This is my first time working with PWM and motor drivers, so this may be a very simple problem…

I am using the VNH3SP30 to drive a DC motor. I am putting in a supply Voltage of Vcc = 15V. To get a clockwise rotation, I am following the normal operation truth table, with:

INa = 1
INb = 0
ENa = 1
ENb = 1

I am have a PWM signal of 5V coming from a microcontroller. I am measuring the output Voltage across terminals OUTa and OUTb. Unfortunately, this is only on the order of millivolts. I should be expecting 7.5V since my input has a duty cycle of 50%.

Does it sound like I have the right connections for this operation?

Thank You,
Andrew

It sounds like you’re using the VNH3SP30 carrier board, is this correct?

When you say your Vcc=15V, I hope you mean you’re applying 15V and ground to the two big sockets on the bottom of the image labeled VIN and GND, right? You also need to connect 5V (and no more!) and ground to the pins on the lower left labeled +5V and GND.

INA and INB control the direction/mode of motion, so you’re selecting clockwise rotation (by the datasheet convention, of course it depends on how you wire up your motor). ENA and ENB are actually pulled high by resistors built into the carrier board, so they’re basically acting as diagnostic pins you can monitor to detect fault conditions. You’re not hurting anything by pulling them high, but you can also just leave them disconnected. I’m not sure which pin you were using for this, but you want to connect the PWM signal form your microcontroller to the input pin labeled PWM, and the microcontroller and motor controller must also share a common ground.