Using an oscilloscope to view current waveform through winding

Hello group,

I wish to analyze the current waveform through my stepper windings using a Rigol oscilloscope which I will be receiving shortly. :rofl: I have no experience with an oscilloscope, and am looking for guidance.

The stepper is driven by a Pololu A4988 motor driver with voltage regulators, configured at 16 uSteps/full step;

The stepper’s specs:

• Stepper rated voltage: 12V
  • Stepper rated current: 0.33A
  • Supply voltage: 18VDC
  • L=48mH
  • R=32.6ohms
  • f= 10Hz (ie 10 full cycles of 16uSteps per full step per second)

I do not have a current probe, so plan to use a shunt resistor in series.
For shunt resistor value, my calcs so far if I am correct point to a 1 ohm resistance.

The only technique I have found on the internet involves the use the A -B differential method described here to measure voltage difference between two probes.

Is there another way to see the current waveform using this scope?

Thanks in advance for your responses!

Ron
Montreal

Hello, Ron.

A differential measurement using a shunt resistor is a reasonable approach. Adding resistance in series with the coils will change the behavior of the driver a little bit (the driver will have to run a slightly higher duty cycle to product the target currents) but a 1 ohm resistor probably will not affect a 32.6 ohm coil much. Lower resistance shunt resistors will have less of an effect, but also might affect the resolution of your measurements.

It is worth noting that there are current sensing resistors on the A4988 board, however those are connected to the coils through the H-bridge, so they will be frequently disconnected from and connected in reverse to the coil, which makes measurements there much more difficult to interpret.

-Nathan

Thank you Nathan for your response.
I’m glad to see that I’m on the right track with this project.
Thanks once again!

Ron,