Turning a motor into a servo

Hello,

I bought two Pololu 131:1 metal 37Dx57 motors with a dual MC33926 motor driver like two months ago. This week I had some time to test my investment. I had some linear potentiometers so I thought of making my own servo’s with the motor driver, pots and motors. But After some tweaking I realised that the accuracy and ‘responsiveness’ was lower than my expactations. I’m a beginner so did not know what to expect but it was not ‘servo’ like to say the least. I use a Arduino Uno controller to control the setup and used some simple code to control the motor’s position with a potentiometer and with potentiometer feedback (same pots so I compared both values for precise positioning).

My question is how I should best attain ‘servo-like’ attitude with the hardware I have. I want precise and powerfull positioning. The 131:1 motors are very powerfull so that is OK but it looks like I need a JRK 21V3 controller because the Invenscience servo’s use them (and it is that responsivenss that I would like to have). Can I reach the same accuracy like the Invenscience servo’s if I control my motors with a JRK controller (with my linear continuous pots)? Or maybe a good code on the Arduino Uno is enough (is a cheaper alternative…)?

Thanks a lot,
Fons Jena

How does your Arduino code work? Are you using PID? What’s the update rate? Have you tuned your PID constants?

Here’s a page about how to tune your PID constants. It’s for the jrk, but the general principles apply to any PID feedback system: pololu.com/docs/0J38/5