Trouble Running Stepper: DRV8825 and Teensy 3.2

Hello all!

I am a student in the U.S., and I’ve been trying to run my stepper motor using a Teensy 3.2 and the Pololu DRV8825 driver board. My stepper motor is from Nanotec, and I’m using a gearbox with a 25.2:1 gear ratio:

https://us.nanotec.com/products/2450-sc2818s1504-b/

My code is as follows:

// Initialize variables
const int ledPin = 13;
const int sleepReset = 15;
const int stepDrive = 9;
const int counter = 10;
const int dirDrive = 8;

int dutyCycle = 120;
int stepperDirection = 1;
volatile int stepsTaken = 0;

void setup() {
  pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);

// Pull sleepReset high
  pinMode(sleepReset, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(sleepReset, HIGH);

// Setup stepper settings
  pinMode(dirDrive, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(stepDrive, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(counter, INPUT_PULLUP);
  attachInterrupt(counter, stepInterrupt, RISING);

// Setup Serial
  Serial.begin(9600);
  while (!Serial);
}

void loop() {
  digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH);   // set the LED on
  Serial.println("Enter any letter key to start code");
  String entry = "";

while (entry.length() < 2){
    if (Serial.available()){
      char inChar = Serial.read();
      entry += inChar;
      }
  }
  Serial.println("Running script now.");

int steps_current = 0;
  int steps = 2000;
  int steps_vel = 600;

// Set direction
  digitalWrite(dirDrive, HIGH);
  stepperDirection = 1;

analogWriteFrequency(stepDrive, steps_vel);
  analogWrite(stepDrive, dutyCycle);

while (steps_current <= steps){
      Serial.println(steps_current);
      steps_current += stepsTaken;
    } 

analogWrite(stepDrive, 0);

}

void stepInterrupt(){
  stepsTaken += stepperDirection;
}