Trex Jr issues controlling 2 motors

I have the Trex Jr connected via RC. I go through the process of the “secret handshake” and the Trex Jr learns the channels. I am using a Taranis radio. I am using mix mode for a tracked vehicle. I am only getting sufficient power on motor 2. Motor 1 will sometimes run, kind of intermittently. I am using a 12v battery pack for motors and BEC. Why does motor 2 run fast and motor 1 run little if non at all? Is it a power issue or an issue during the “secret handshake?” I do not have a way to use the configuration utility. I am a newbie with this.

Can you describe in more detail what you mean when you say that “motor 1 will sometimes run, kind of intermittently”? For example, when it does run, is it able to go full speed? Does it stutter as if power is being applied and removed quickly? A video of the behavior might be helpful.

I suspect there might be a connection issue. Can you post some pictures of your setup that show all of your connections? If you swap the motors so the one that runs fine is connected to motor channel 2, does the problem follow the motor or stay with channel 2?

Brandon

Here is a video: https://youtu.be/SNvlNAocLRc
I tried switching the motors and the same thing happens. I also tried running it without BEC and get the same result.

Thank you for the video. Could you try disconnecting your motors from the TReX Jr and using the red and green motor indicator LEDs as feedback for what the motors should be doing? Are they displaying as expected? You might also try removing the mixing mode jumper so you can use the M1 LED to see what channel 1 is doing and the M2 LED to see what channel 2 is doing.

Brandon

I disconnected the motors and the LEDs work fine. Here is a video: https://youtu.be/gV-f0YVbahw
The motors are rated 485rpm with a stall current of 3.8A (no capacitors attached)