TIC T500 Serial Commands

Hi

I am new to the TIC T500 units. What I am trying to achive is control the stepper by using a USB to serial adaptor connected to the T500 via the RX/TX pins and would then like to send it commands from a serial console like Putty, CMD or similar.

What will the commands be doing it this way. I have setup and configured the setting for the stepper in the TIC software and there is works well. Now just to get it to work on serial commands.

Thank you.

Hello.

You can find a list of the available commands in the “Command Reference” section of the Tic user’s guide. Once you find the command you want to use, you can reference the “Serial command encoding” section to see how the format of that command should translate into the serial bytes (each format type has an example you can use to help understand how it works). You will also need to determine whether you want to use the Compact Protocol or the Pololu Protocol, which are described in that same section.

By the way, you might consider using the Pololu Serial Transmitter Utility to quickly and easily test different serial commands.

If you are having problems with a specific command, you can post details about what bytes you are trying to send and I would be glad to help.

Brandon

Thank you for the quick response.

Okay I have now downloaded the Pololu Serial Transmitter utility and used the example to move to target command as the following in the 6-byte command.
0xE0 0x05 0x52 0x02 0x16 0x49
Do this tell me that it will move to target 05 steps then to location 52 steps etc?

Using it this way still did not do anything. Just to confirm will I be able to do this with a USB-FTDI module? Something like this Pololu USB AVR Programmer v2.1