Stepper motor help

I am new to using stepper motors. I read up on them and understand how they work but have no idea on how to write a program. Is there a basic program that will drive a stepper motor in one direction and control the speed with a pot? I would like the motor to continually run depending on the position of the pot. I have the orangutan unit to play with. will that do the job or please suggest what I should be using to accomplish my needs.

Thank you

Tom

Heya,

This link helped me learn a bit:
schmalzhaus.com/EasyDriver/E … mples.html

You definitively want a background in getting some code setup.

In some ways, however, you can think of the a4988 stepper driver like an LED. you should do the “example LED” project first. But I’m saying the driver is like an LED because first you set up a direction pin, and you put it HIGH or LOW. Then you “blink” the “step” line every time you want to take a step.

You will need a stepper motor driver in addition to the orangutan unit.

So your directions:
Read up on programming in arduino (assuming you start with them. It’s a great learning platform.) Look up “orangutan programming in arduino environment” worksheet. Or consider picking up a arduino Uno before you work with your orangutan. You need a programmer for the orangutan (frankly I think they should preprogram them with the arduino bootloader. Anyone who doesn’t want to use arduino can use their own programmer.).
Read the schmalzhaus tutorial.
Read all the things you can get your hands on.

Good luck! I hope you enjoy this. It might be frustrating at times. Pay attention to details, they will hit you everywhere.

Other than that, you have an insanely broad question in this post :stuck_out_tongue:

Hello, Tom.