Speed control using code and the DRV8825

Hello all

I have a project where I am controlling 2 stepper motors (SM42HT47-1684B and 17HS1070-C5X with gear box) and driving them using the DRV8825 and arduino uno, using 12V to power the system. I have written code that works great for my application. However, I now need to control the speed. I have tried using many codes on the web and examples to try and understand how to control the speed, but nothing is working for me. I have tried increasing the delay between high and low in the for loop, this does slow the speed but the noise and motor vibration is too high for my use. I am a beginner when it come to writing code, so some help with writing the code on how to control the speed would be greatly appreciated. Please see attached my code. Thank you for your time and help.

// Run a A4998 from an Arduino UNO.
// Applimed R & D, 02.2016
int x; 
#define BAUD (9600)
#include <Stepper.h>

void setup() 
{
  Serial.begin(BAUD);
  pinMode(6,OUTPUT); // Enable (Step motor one (tube length)).
  pinMode(5,OUTPUT); // Step
  pinMode(4,OUTPUT); // Dir
  digitalWrite(6,LOW); // Set Enable low (Step motor two (CAM)).
  pinMode(7,OUTPUT); // Enable2
  pinMode(8,OUTPUT); // Step2
  pinMode(9,OUTPUT); // Dir2
  digitalWrite(7,LOW); // Set Enable low

}

void loop() 
{
  // Step motor one (tube length).
  digitalWrite(6,LOW); // Set Enable low
  digitalWrite(4,LOW); // Set Dir high
  Serial.println("Loop 200 steps (1 rev)");
  for(x = 0; x < 118; x++) // Loop 200 times
  {
    digitalWrite(5,HIGH); // Output high
    delay(1); // Wait
    digitalWrite(5,LOW); // Output low
    delay(1); // Wait
  }
  Serial.println("Pause");
  delay(10); // pause one second

// Step motor two (CAM).
  digitalWrite(9,HIGH); // Set Dir high
  for(x = 0; x < 1036; x++) // Gear ratio 1 : 5.18. Loop 200 times
  {
    digitalWrite(8,HIGH); // Output step high
    delay(1); // Wait
    digitalWrite(8,LOW); // Output step low
    delay(1); // Wait
  }