Simple Motor Controller 18v7 with BeagleBone

I am brand new to building robots so please excuse this basic question. I bought two 18v7 controllers and connected everything. I then connected the controllers to my BeagleBone and I see the serial device (/dev/ttyACM0) however when I run the SmcCmd -s command it says that it can not find any controllers. I connected both controllers and get the same results for each. Any suggestions on why the serial device is created but the software does not recognize it?
Thanks,

Hello.

If you run SmcCmd with no parameters, it should print out a a version number. What version of SmcCmd do you have?

The SmcCmd utility does not connect to the virtual serial port. It identifies devices by their USB vendor ID and product ID, and it connects directly to them using libusb 1.0. I don’t know if you have the lsusb utility installed on your BeagleBone, but could you try running “lsusb” at the command prompt and post the output from it here? If you have lsusb, running it should list the USB vendor IDs and product IDs for the devices connected.

–David

Thanks for the reply, when I run SmcCmd without any options it says I have version 1.1.0.0.
The output of the lsusb command is:

Bus 001 Device 002: ID 05e3:0608 Genesys Logic, Inc. USB-2.0 4-Port HUB
   Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
   Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
   Bus 001 Device 003: ID 05e3:0608 Genesys Logic, Inc. USB-2.0 4-Port HUB
   Bus 001 Device 004: ID 046d:c52b Logitech, Inc. Unifying Receiver
   Bus 001 Device 005: ID 1d6b:0104 Linux Foundation Multifunction Composite Gadget