Serial Transmitter Command

I am new to the whole command thing and im using a serial transmitter to send commands to the TReX DMC01.

Im using the command line 0x80, 0x07, 0x52, 0x7F, 0x7F to make the robot go forward.

Which ones do i have to change to make the robot to go in reverse??

thanks

Hello.

Did you also email this question to us directly? If so, please do not contact us multiple ways without mentioning that you have done so.

The command documentation for the TReX says the following about the Set Motors 1 and 2 command byte:

Where direction is 1 for reverse and 2 for forward.

That means that the command byte will be:
0xD5 = both motors reverse
0xD6 = m2 reverse, m1 forward
0xD9 = m2 forward, m1 reverse
0xDA = both motors forward

If you only have one TReX on your serial line, you can use the simpler Compact Protocol to make both motors go in reverse at full speed:

0xD5, 0x7F, 0x7F

Or you can clear the most significant bit of the command byte and use it in the expanded protocol to do the same thing:

0x80, 0x07, 0x55, 0x7F, 0x7F

- Ben

How do you send a compact command to the TReX??
As far as i can do, I can only do the Expanded protocol. I cant get the Compact protocol to work, what can i use the compact command??

You don’t have to do anything special; the TReX will accept Compact and Extended Protocol commands on the fly. What command bytes are you trying to send the TReX? Please post the Extended Protocol bytes that work for you and the Compact Protocol bytes that do not.

- Ben

The expanded protocol that works for me is 0x80, 0x07, 0x52, 0x7F, 0x7F and 0x80, 0x07, 0x55, 0x7F, 0x7F. None of the compact protocol work.

If the expanded protocol is working for you, you must not be sending the proper compact protocol bytes. Please post the Compact Protocol packet you expect to work but doesn’t.

- Ben