Serial control of jrk 21v3 standalone

I’m new to using these motor controllers and linear actuators so pardon me if I ask a stupid question…

I’m trying to set up a PIC micro controller to configure and run the JRK 21V3 controller and to ultimately control the position on my linear actuator. I have done basic tests with the PC and the utility to configure and operate the motor controller and actuator with the USB interface. If I have a dedicated PIC micro controller running a serial interface to the motor controller board, can I completely configure and operate the motor controller with serial commands or is a PC with USB necessary for some configuration? My actuator has feedback available.

Has anyone done this and, if so, would you be willing to share how to set this up?

Thanks.

Hi.

All of the serial commands you can use with the jrk motor controller can be found in the user’s guide under the “Using the Serial Interface” section. For any settings that are not accessible using the jrk’s serial interface, you will have to use some type of USB interface (e.g. our jrk configuration utility or your own PC software). However, these settings typically only have to be set once for most projects.

- Zeeshan

Thanks for replying.
I did read the operating manual and saw the serial commands listed. I didn’t see any commands for setting upper or lower limits, setting PID values, or some of the other commands typically set through the USB interface and the utility program running on a PC.
So in a typical stand-alone (microcontroller only) powering up scenario, I would need a local PC running the control application to set some of the limits and then disconnect the USB for stand-alone operation? Does the motor controller retain any settings when powered down (like in EEPROM) or does the utility program need to be used every time the motor controller is powered up?