Remedial wiring question for Tic 36v4

This is an extremely remedial question, I am sure, but I am new to this world. I have a Tic 36v4 and i am wanting to have both USB control as well as a manual control. Simplest terms, I want to have 2 buttons (up/down) and a potentiometer for speed control as manual inputs when I can’t control the Tic via USB. I see a lot of answers about how to wire a potentiometer, but I can’t seem to find anything that lays out in relatively clear/simple terms how to do this, if it is even possible. Everything I can find, after a lot of google-fu, still doesn’t seem to answer my question. Is there a forum post, or an article, that lays this out in simpler terms? Any help or direction would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Hello.

The Tic does not have direct support for the control method you described with the buttons and potentiometer. However, when in analog speed control mode, the Tic will map the input voltage to the motor speed, with values under the configured neutral point turning the motor in the negative direction and values greater than the neutral point turning the motor in the positive direction. So, if you want to control the direction with pushbuttons and the speed with a potentiometer, you could use analog speed control mode with some additional circuitry like this:

With this configuration pressing both buttons at the same time would create a short between 5V and GND, so you might consider using a switch instead of the buttons to prevent that situation.

Additionally, please note that you will need to re-configure the control mode to “Serial/I2C/USB” when you want to control it via USB.

Brandon