Questions about Pololu Micro Dual Serial Motor Controller

Firt off, I am new to this forum, and this is my first time using a product from Pololu. I am working with a team of 2 others who are designing a robot spider.

One of my team mates obtained a Pololu Micro Dual Serial Motor Controller (MDSMC) to be used along with a PIC18F4550 to control the way the robot spider moves.

Now on to the questions. According to the manual, the MDSMC can be used with up to two separate motors. Is it possible to hook up two motors instead of just one so that four motors will be controlled? Yes, the two motors on each side will always be moving in the same direction, just in case you are wondering.

Another question is: Does anyone know how to use the MDSMC with MikroC or MikroBasic from Mikroelektronika? Currently, I am using MikroC to program the PIC Microcontroller. Both MikroC and MikroBasic have USART functions, but I am unsure whether this will be enough, or if it will work at all. Any hints as to this issue is appreciated.

The manual talks about “Using the motor controller”. Is this serial data supposed to be put in a loop? An I am concerned about the Configuration. The sample code (from what I understand it doing) does not send the Configuration bytes, but instead goes straight to using the motor controller.

I would also like to know what the difference is between Pin 1 and Pin 3. Is it OK to attach both of them to the same power supply of 5V?

That’s all the questions I have for now. Thanks in advance for your helpful replies.

- Dennis

Hello.

It’s certainly possible to connect multiple motors to a single motor output. For many people, however, even their single motor is beyond the size the motor controller is made for, so make sure your motors have a low-enough stall current (max 500 mA).

The USART should work fine with the uDSMC as long as you configure it correctly (i.e. UART, or asynchronous mode; acceptable baud rate; 1 stop bit; etc.).