Polite stop / kill / reset for Tic825?

I am new to Tic’s but have a fair bit of experience with steppers and drivers. I am currently trying to use a Tic825 (and others later) as a stand alone controller in “Encoder Speed” mode (e.g. power supply, Tic, encoder and a stepper, no micro controller or other external communication). I have set it up to allow the encoder to turn the stepper both CW and CCW rotation.

I have two problems:

1. I can’t figure out what the ideal setting is for the postscaler so that when I return the encoder to a “neutral” position, it actually stops the motor moving. Playing around I found some values (multiples) that seemed to stop sending steps, but it wasn’t obvious why it worked, or what value(s) would be appropriate.

My prescaler for this particular encoder is set at 1, even though it has detents, it appears to just be a 1 count per detent encoder. My max speed for this particular application is 70,000,000 (7,000 pps).

Can you give me a better idea how to pick a value other than “approximately one hundredth of max speed” that results in an even division and halted motion?

1. The bigger issue is that if the encoder is rotated quickly (I can’t control what an end user might do), and the Tic misses a count or more, the “stopped” encoder count might be off by some number of counts, which seems to create soft start errors in some conditions. These are not easily recoverable in a “black box” stand alone application, so I’m trying to figure out the best approach to make the system bullet proof.

If I connect a pushbutton to the Tic, it seems like I can choose “Kill” or “Reset” as possible options.

“Kill” seems to stop the motion, but doesn’t reset the encoder count (to 0), so it doesn’t always eliminate the soft error conditions.

“Reset” seems like it solves the encoder problem, by resetting the encoder count along with the entire processor, which does eliminate the soft start errors too.