Newby Onestep function for a4988 question

Is there a way of using a one step function with the A4988? Id like the motor to move 1 step every 36 seconds. Are there libraries I should be utilizing for this function? I am new to the Pololu world so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hello.

When using the A4988, each low to high transistion of the step pin advances the motor by one step. Therefore, you should send one square wave pulse each time you want the motor to make a step.

-Claire

So I understand that I should send one square wave. Tomorrow I will post a pic of my set up. When I say Newbie i mean totally new at the Pololu product. I had a bad experience with the Baby Orangutan and got scared off of your product but the A4988 seems promising if I can get it to work. I have my program working using Adafruits motor shield but would prefer to use the A4988. Here is the code I have started with. I figure this should be easy to control but my motor either makes a high pitched sound when not stepping OR makes a high pitched sound while turning slowly. I think its just the 36 second pauses I am having a problem with.

}

}

#define stepPin 2
#define dirPin 3
#define enablePin 4

void setup()
{
  pinMode(enablePin, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(enablePin, HIGH); 

Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial.println("Starting stepper exerciser.");
  pinMode(stepPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(dirPin, OUTPUT);
}
void loop()
{
  int j;
  digitalWrite(enablePin, LOW); 
  delayMicroseconds(36000);
  digitalWrite(dirPin, HIGH);

for(j=0; j<=200; j++) 
  {
    digitalWrite(stepPin, LOW);
    delayMicroseconds(20000);
    delay(20000);
    digitalWrite(stepPin, HIGH);
    delayMicroseconds(10000);

Hello.