New user trying to trouble shoot the maze solver

Hi everyone, my name is Francis and I’m totally new to Arduino and the ZUMO. I have the following:
Running Mac OSX 10.11.6
I am trying to get the maze solver sketch to run (or to do anything for that matter). This is what I have done:
All the necessary shield libraries are installed.
I get no errors when uploading to the ZUMO.
After uploading is complete, the LCD displays a series of bars across the top half of the LCD.
It beeps once and pin 13 LED remains on. I disconnect the USB cable and my understanding is that I have to pass from left to right the line sensors over my 0.75 inch wide black line in order to calibrate it. Anyway I do this but nothing happens and the LED never turns off.
My maze is almost an exact copy of the maze shown on the Pololu site.
My batteries are fresh inside the ZUMO.
It’s a brand new ZUMO purchased from Pololu.
Nothing shows on the LCD screen except those bars across the top half.

What things have I overlooked or doing completely wrong? Just a hint that’s all I need. I’m not asking for any answers etc as I want to trouble shoot this but at the same time not end up pounding my head into a brick wall in order to achieve this. Maybe I’ve just not read something properly etc. If the motors speeds are wrong in the code will nothing work? Apologies if I’ve posted in the wrong area.

Regards

Francis

Hello, Francis.

It sounds like you have one of our Zumo 32U4 robots. Did you adjust the contrast for the screen? You can find instructions for how to do this under the “LCD” heading of the “User Interface” section in the Zumo 32U4’s user’s guide, which is linked to on the “Resources” tab of its product page. If you adjusted the contrast already, could you post video here that shows the bars on the screen and the other behavior you mentioned? Can you confirm that you are using the “MazeSolver” sketch? Do you get any beeps from your robot when you turn it on?

-Nathan