New to Raspberry and Stepper Motor Controllers

Hello,

I’m new to Raspberry Pi, or any modern micro and not a programmer either. I’m an old EE that designs chips (RF & Analog). I do understand general hardware/motors fairly well, but not so good with software/controllers. Would like to get a Raspberry Pi system up and running and learn to do some things that would be useful for my interest which is photographing the chips I’ve and others have designed. Macs are the main computers I have access to, and prefer to stay away from PCs if possible. I’ve ordered a Raspberry Pi development kit and add on stepper motor control PCB from another source before finding this site. From what I’ve seen here at Pololu, this seems aligned little closer to what my interests are in setting up a stepper motor control system, especially with the Tic stepper controllers boards and the DRV8825, and all the folks discussions.

One area of particular interest is macro photographing chips using focus stacking where a linear stage is driven by a stepper motor controlled by some computer. Focus stacking helps with the shallow depth of field in macro, and popular with insect macro-photography. The stage is usually driven by a NEMA 17 stepper motor which turns a screw thread moving the stage which holds the camera & lens, so focus stacking is achieved by moving the camera/lens rather than using the lens focus ring. I have a few of these setups now that use various dedicated computer/controllers from various vendors specializing in this and some that require an additional computer (PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone) for setting up the stacking parameters and running the system. These all work well for their intended purpose, running a single stacking session.