Need to disable drivers in case of fault with DualG2 High Powe Motor Shield 24v18?

I’m using the DualG2HighPowerMotorShield24v18 to control two 12V electric motors in my kids’ ride on electric vehicle.

I’m new at electronics, so I apologize if this is a silly question. My arduino code uses the stopIfFault function in the demo sketch. I found that I get a fault if the vehicle tires roll at all without being driven by the motor controller. In which case the motor drivers are disabled and the vehicle won’t go until the arduino is reset.

What are the dangers of not disabling the motor drivers if a fault is detected? Thank you very much in advance!

Hello.

The fault pins are good for indicating when something is going wrong, like your motor is stalling, your battery is low, or the output wires are shorted. You can find more information about the fault conditions in the “Control and feedback pins” section of the user’s guide (which is available on the product page under the “Resources” tab). The safest thing to do when a fault triggers will usually be to stop your system until you determine that everything is alright; not doing that increases the risk that your system will act unexpectedly or somehow damage itself.