MP6500 connected with Particle Photon

Hello!

I am a software engineering student and took one hardware class, so I’m VERY new to hardware! I had a project in school that I’m trying to finish out of class to put to use in my house. I’m making Alexa enabled roller shades. I have a Particle Photon and I’m using the MP6500 stepper motor driver. I have just two quick questions that I didn’t really understand about the MP6500 stepper driver.

First, I want to see if I can connect the current and step size pins on the MP6500 to the particle photon pins so that I can control them via software if/when I may need to configure the step size or current limit. That way if I need to change to a different motor size its not permanently hard wired on the PCB board like it currently is.

Second, It says on the driver description on the website that the current limit pins (I1 & I2) can be connected to a microcontroller pin as an input, which I wasn’t really sure what that meant…? I’m assuming that means I can connect it to the Photon, but it doesn’t say if that can be done with the M1 & M2 pins for step size? I’m kind of assuming if it is doable then I just set those Photon pins high or low via code, depending on what step size or current limit I need, right?

Thank you again! Any help at all is greatly appreciated!!

Scott

Hello.

On the digital current control version of the MP6500 carrier, most of the current limit settings require at least one pin (l1 or l2) to be high-impedance (designated with a Z in the current limit table). To set a pin on your microcontroller as high impedance, you can configure it as an input. For example, to set the current limit to 1A, you would configure the microcontroller pin connected to l1 as an output and drive it low, and configure the one connected to l2 as an input.