MC33926 (fault) - Novice - Failure to run motor with demo program

Hi!

Prelude: Admittedly I am a complete mechatronics novice (an am also new to these forums, again, hi!) - but hopefully that is soon to change. I am currently undertaking my first robotics project however, and am working with Pololu MC33926 motor drivers, Pololu 25D Metal Gearmotors and an Arduino 2560 Mega.

Problem: I am currently attempting to attain communication between two 25D Metal Gearmotors and the Arduino through one MC33926, and have thus connected the neccessary pins of the MC33926 to the Arduino, and have uploaded the Demo code provided by Pololu. However, the serial monitor displays a “Dual MC33926 Motor Shield fault” message, and so I assume I have wired the motor driver incorrectly.

I would be incredibly grateful should an experienced user identify my mistake so I might begin to program for motor control. As such, I have uploaded 2 images which may assist. The first, MC33926_1, maps all the pin connections I have made. The second, MC33926_2, displays my first-time solder work, which may also contribute to the fault error. Feel free to ask for any additional photographs or information!

Please advise.

Edit: 5/5/2016 7:14PM (Adelaide, Australia)
After further reading, I have disconnected the “VOUT” pin on the MC33926 and have connected a 12V power supply to the large VIN and GROUND blocks on the board, in addition to two 12V 25D Pololu Metal Gearmotors. The board is certainly supplied power, as the blue light over the words “MOT POW” lights up. However, no other lights show when the Demo program is run, and the only information provided to me via the Serial Monitor is “Dual MC33926 Motor Shield fault” every time the Arduino is run and reset. Below is a third image, “MC33926_3”, which displays the new hardware configuration. Note that at the time the image was taken, the 12V power supply was off, so the blue light on the board does not show.

3 Likes

Hello.