Low voltage dual serial motor controller

Hi newbie here. I need some help with my low voltage dual serial motor controller. (and tamiya double gearbox)

I have a 6v 1.2Ah battery that runs my microprocessor, I tried running it off this too (as at a rough estimate from figures in the instructions) it uses about 90mA.
After reading a lot in this forum I have changed my motor controller from a dual serial to a micro dual serial to the one I have now. It doesnt seem to overheat, but after looking at the specs (“motors run on 3-6 volts and draw up to a few amps”) I have concluded my battery is not powerful enough. So I also have a 6v 4Ah which I tried, but surely you cant have the + of 2 batterys going to the - of 1? what should I do (I dont believe my microcontroller’s demo board can handle anything much more than 1000mA)

Please help. Thanks.

I also have capacitors soldered across the motor terminals as in the instructions, and always have the battery fully charged.

The motor controller works fine connecting it to the 6v 1.2Ah battery without the motors connected (the LEDs work) but with the motors connected they try but dont really move much.

Always glad to see people breaking into robotics.

You are quite right, if you want to use a different battery to power your motors, you should connect its positive terminal to the “motor supply pin” and its negative terminal to the “ground” pin, but you then also need to tie the ground of your microcontroller to the ground of your motor controller. Look at the picture on page 4 of the guide, and pretend that your smaller battery is plugged into some other part of the “Robot Controller” box. If your microcontroller has a free ground pin you could connect that to your motor battery, or you could even connect the negative terminals of the two batteries together.