Linear actuator and motor controller with feedback

I’m revisiting a project to automate a lab procedure, and I plan to use the linear actuator with Feedback LACT10P-12V-20 hooked up to Jrk 21 V3. I have no electronics knowledge, so I’ll keep it simple for now - I will control the linear actuator by either a momentary forward/reverse switch or a joystick.
Questions:

1. If I use a simple forward/reverse switch, does it mean I can’t adjust the speed of the actuator without connecting to a PC, or is there another set of pins for a second analogue input?
  2. What power supply should I use for this setup? Do I need a fuse somewhere in there?
  3. The linear actuator will perform small extensions (up to a few mm) and retractions repeatedly under load with about 0.5 second time lag in between. Does the duty cycle allow for that?
    Many Thanks!

Hello, drosologo.

You didn’t say it explicitly, but I’m going to assume you want to connect the actuator’s feedback potentiometer to the jrk so the jrk knows the position of the actuator and you can control that position rather than just controlling the speed of the actuator. The alternative is to leave the actuator’s feedback potentiometer disconnected and just use the jrk to control the speed of the motor.

You say you’re want to automate a lab procedure, but you are considering having a switch or joystick and that usually means a human is present. What exactly are you trying to do?

You would need to set the jrk’s Input Mode to “Analog” for your switch to have any affect, and in that mode the jrk’s motion can’t be controlled from the PC. There are only two analog inputs on the jrk: one for the input voltage and one for the feedback voltage from your actuator’s potentiometer.