Jrk G2 21v3 Power Supply?

This is my first attempt at using a motor controller and actuator w/ radio control. After reading the user’s guide I still can’t figure this out. I’m learning as I go, but I’m still missing something.

I’m building a large-scale child’s ride on Jeep, and I’m converting it to Radio Control. For steering I’m using a Jrk G2 21v3 with a Glideforce Linear Actuator w/ feedback (LACT2P-12V-10). It will eventually be operated by two 12V, 33amp/hr sealed batteries wired in series.

While programing the Jrk I’m using an AC/DC adapter with 12V 5A output.

When running the system using the AC/DC adapter I get a “Motor Driver Error”. Functioning the steering/actuator back and forth through its range of motion for 15 to 20 seconds gives me the error. The count ranges from 15 to 22 then I get the “No Power Error”. Which shuts down the Jrk. This occurs when using both the RC or USB input.

However, when hooked to the battery (12V, 33a/h), the system works perfectly. No errors using RC or USB input.

Both the ac/dc adapter and the battery are showing just over 12V. The amps when the Jrk is idle are the same using the battery or AC adapter. 0.17mA with USB input, and 0.52mA with RC input.

Can the motor driver error occur when the current (amps) are too low?

Is it possible the AC adapter isn’t producing enough amps to power the Jrk?

Is there an AC/DC adapter you recommend for use w/ this Jrk/Glideforce combo?

What am I missing that could cause this?

Technically, I’ve got it working the way I want. I’m just trying to learn why it won’t work using a plug-in ac/dc adapter. I don’t have a laptop, so I’ve been programing the Jrk at my desk. Having it work off a plugin adapter means bringing less stuff to my office.

Thanks for the help.
Stay Safe,
Paul

Hello, Paul.