JRK 12v12 Power Error

Hi all, I’m new to control electronics and learning as I go. I have a racing motion simulator I have built and used 1/2 built stuff from someone else. It was all working great, but I now have a power error on one of the JRK 12v12 boards. I have switched the boards over, and the other board works perfectly where the broken board was located (so not wiring or motors etc).

I have also checked that 12v is being supplied to the board, and it is. This makes me think that it is something in the board.

Any advice / help on how to maybe fix it without having to buy a new board would be great. Fallback option is to just replace the board. But I think I need one that matches a 2009 version (I read somewhere the boards after 2012 use different software?).

Here are some photos of the board and error messages.

Hello.

Could you try measuring the voltage at the VIN(out) pin and the +5V(out) pin with respect to ground while the board is powered only through the VIN terminal block (i.e. not USB)?

Please note that if you do want to go with a replacement, we currently still have some of the original Jrk 12v12 controllers available; however, please note that the motor driver IC has been discontinued and they are on end-of-life rationing. It sounds like you might be concerned about the firmware change that happened in 2012; you can find a note about that in the “Upgrading Firmware” section of the Jrk user’s guide. Is there something in particular about the 1.4 firmware that makes it incompatible with your system?

Brandon

I have just measured the hood working and broken boards (as they are connected side by side and easy to compare).

The good board has 12v and 4.7v respectively.
The broken board has 12v and 4.15v respectively.