Issues Operating a Pololu G2 High-Power Motor Driver 18v17 for Small Robot

Hello,

I’m fairly new to electronics and I’ve run into an issue with using the Pololu G2 High-Power Motor Driver 18v17 for a small tracked robot I’m trying to build and control. The goal is to be able to control the robot using an RC transmitter and make it move forward, backward, turn, etc.

The motors on the robot and the motor drivers are connected as follows: The motor driver on the right hand side (as oriented in the pictures below) is connected to the front motor of the robot, which drives the left side wheels. The motor driver on the left hand side is connected to the rear motor of the robot by feeding the wires through a small hole in the cardboard shield (below), driving the right side wheels. Both motor drivers are wired from OUTA and OUTB on the boards to the two terminals of their respective motors. For reference, I have attached the solders on the rear side of both boards as well.

Right hand side motor driver:

Left hand side motor driver:

The two red wires come out of the VIN terminals of the motor drivers and connect in parallel to the positive end of an XT30 connector; likewise for GND and negative. This plugs in to a 12V NiMH battery.

There are two questions I have / issues I’ve run into. First, when testing the motor drivers directly powered to the battery without any RC connections, only the right side wheels (connected to the left hand side motor driver) spin. Is there a reason for this? I also do not know if this behavior is normal, or if the motor should not be spinning when connected only to power. In other words, I do not know whether the motor driver that is stationary or the driver that is driving the motor is behaving properly.