Interfacing Micro Metal Gearmotors with Unity3D

Hope you are having a great day.

First of all, I am new to Polulu products and this forum but have been informed about the high quality components the brand offers. (Am looking forward to use extensively for future projects).

I am interested in using high-power actuators as an input/output mechanism to use in conjunction with a virtual reality environment.

Specifically, I hope to have closed-loop position/speed control (can I achieve both?) based on what is happening in the virtual environment (Unity3D, C#), while simultaneously reading motor load (current).

I have acquired a couple 1000:1 Micro Metal Gearmotor HP 6V with Extended Motor Shaft as they have sufficiently high power. In addition, I have obtained Magnetic Encoder Pair Kit with Top-Entry Connector for Micro Metal Gearmotors, 12 CPR, 2.7-18V with the necessary JST connectors.

However, I am not sure what is the best method or what additional components would be necessary to achieve the functions I desire. I do assume that I would need to use a USB-compatible motor controller such as Jrk G2 21v3 USB Motor Controller with Feedback, but as noted in the Main features of the Jrk G2 family description,

Note: the Jrk does not support using quadrature encoders for position control

Your suggestions and guidance would be heavily appreciated.

Best,
PLL

Hello, PLL.

Please note our company name is Pololu, not “Polulu”.