How to power an Arduino Uno from a 36v4?

Complete beginner here, so please be patient with me!

I have an Elegoo Uno R3, and I want to use it to control a 24v 4A stepper motor via a Pololu 36v4 controller. This needs to form a self-contained, portable unit, so I can’t use a USB lead to power the Uno. I want to be able to connect to a (single) mains socket and not rely on batteries.

I already have a 240v AC to 24v DC 5A power supply adaptor, to drive the motor via the 36v4. My question is - how do I then take a lower voltage supply from the 36v4, with which to power the Uno?

Thanks!

BTW it’s for a rain sensor window closer, which will only draw on the motor for a few seconds at a time, and hopefully only a few times a week - though the Uno will need to be on for long periods of time, possibly 24/7, as it waits for a signal that it’s raining.

Hello.

If you are open to switching to a different controller, our Arduino-compatible A-Star 32U4 Prime SV controller has an operating range from 5V to 36V, so you could just power it directly from your 24V supply. It also comes in a variety of versions, including one with microSD support, which might be useful for that kind of project if you want to collect data as well.

Otherwise, if you can specify whether you are referring to our Tic 36v4 USB Multi-Interface High-Power Stepper Motor Controller or our High-Power Stepper Motor Driver 36v4, I can offer some more specific suggestions for powering your Arduino.

Brandon

Thanks Brandon.

I’ve just bought a Pololu High-Power Stepper Motor Driver 36v4. It was about $25 on Amazon UK so I am very keen to make it work!

Further info that may be useful: