How to get a rain sensor to activate a stepper motor

Another newbie question here - please be patient!

I am building a unit for auto-closing a top-hung window whenever it rains. This will involve turning a pulley on a stepper motor a certain number of times when activated by a rain sensor, using an Elegoo Uno R3 and a Pololu High-Power Stepper Motor Driver 36v4.

So far, I have successfully used a rain sensor Arduino sketch to beep a beeper when the sensor becomes wet; and I have set up my stepper motor so that it responds to Pololu’s basicsteppingSPI sketch. So the basic electronics and mechanicals are in place.

What I need to do now is to combine versions of these two sketches in such a way that every time the rain sensor gets wet, the stepper motor turns x times, then goes to sleep until it is reset.

Is anyone aware of a single sketch that I could use/adapt to do this?

If not, what would be the best approach for a complete newbie?

Thanks!

Hello, provastian.

It is probably unlikely that anyone will have a sketch that specific to work from, but it sounds like you already have a good start if you have a program that beeps a buzzer when the stepper motor should move.

Have you tried using the methods from the BasicSteppingSPI example to move the stepper in your rain sensor sketch? If you try it and run into problems, you can post your code here and I would be glad to take a look. Also, you might consider momentarily decoupling your stepper motor from the actual mechanics of your system until you get your code working as intended, just in case.

Brandon

Thanks Brandon – I’ll give it a go.

In the meantime, please could you quickly tell me which output from which Arduino pin would start the stepper motor operation?

And also how I tell the stepper motor to only operate once, for x turns, and then go to sleep until I hit a Reset button?

Once I’ve got those two sorted, I should be well on the way to success.

Thanks!