Help needed for wiring stepper motor/controller

hi,
i have a new stepper motor #1200 (4V, 1200mA) and a #2133 stepper motor driver.
i read the wiring schematics and also the hints for current sensing/limiting, but i am a complete newbie at this hardware and i do’nt want to destroy one of my components before getting familiar to it.

so please can you give me a smal summary where i have to take care before starting to measure something?

i want to control the driver via my orangutan svp1284 and i have an external 12V power supply. can i wire it all like described and start the stepper motor? it has a coil voltage of 4v. does that mean that i have to limit the current before powering up? but i do not know in which position the potentiometer should be before starting?

i hope my questions are not too stupid??

thanks!

Hello.

In general, there are many ways to damage components, but a good precaution you can take is to disconnect power before making or changing any connections.

You should follow the wiring diagram on the driver’s product page when making your connections. You should also set the current limit before connecting your stepper motor to the driver. The section on current limiting on the product page is a good guide on how to do this. If there is something specific you do not understand about either the wiring diagram or current limiting, please point it out and I will try to clarify.

• Grant

thank you, and yes, i have a specific, or lets say a very general question:

in the current-limiting-section it says “One way to set the current limit is to put the driver into full-step mode and to measure the current running through a single motor coil”.