Getting Started: Which stepper motor controller to use?

Hey all,

Very much a new comer here, hoping to get some help to get started. I tried searching the forum’s prior posts, but didn’t see answers to my questions below.

I am a hobbyist looking to create a small project with a stepper motor, using a Raspberry Pi. I have read how the Pi can drive a stepper motor with an H bridge, but it ends up requiring the program to manually cycle the stepper motor and uses multiple GPIO pins for each stepper. So I would like to use a controller board instead, and Pololu seems to have great resources.

I have found these driver boards
A4988: https://www.pololu.com/product/1183
DRV8825: https://www.pololu.com/product/2133

And even found a way to compare the various products:

I have a few questions:

• These products are called motor driver carriers. What is the meaning of the word “carrier”? It this just that the board carries the chips that do the actual work? Or does this board somehow provide support for yet another board that does the actual stepper control (I suspect the former is the correct answer). Other places I see the descriptions as “stepper motor controllers”, and sometimes just “stepper motor drivers”. Are these just other ways of saying the same thing? A web search for “stepper motor controller” often brings up results for H-bridge type boards, that don’t support the Step / Dir options I want. Is there a standard terminology for all this?

– The various board options here on Pololu seem to vary based on whether or not pins are pre-soldered, high or low current, and the presence of voltage regulators. But there also seems to be broad division between the A4988 chip and the DRV8825. Is there any significant difference between these that I should understand? Is it just a difference of one manufacturer over another? Any recommendations or reason to pick one over the other?

Thanks so much in advance.

Hello.