G2 Dual High Power 24v14 Motor Driver M1 not responding

Using a Spektrum DX6e RC transmitter and AR620 receiver, Arduino MEGA 2560, and Dual G2 High Power 24v14 driver. I modified a Sparkfun code. When I run the code and using the toggle on the transmitter (right toggle, up/down) only M2 operates properly. I am new to coding and can’t figure out if the code is written incorrectly. I have changed out the motor driver to ensure it wasn’t a bad board or that my novice soldering wasn’t the problem but I got the same result. I verified my wires were in the correct pins and used different wires to make sure there wasn’t a short of some kind…but same result. Also, when I have the SLP pins connected, I get no motion out of either motor. So, I removed them. The only other attached wire (not in the code) is GND (on left side of motor driver) to GND on Arduino. I have attached the code I’m running. This is for my senior design project so any help will be greatly appreciated.

// controller pins
const int CH_4_PIN = 11;

// motor driver pins
const int M1SLP = 10;
const int M1DIR = 2;
const int M1PWM = 5;
const int M2SLP = 9;
const int M2DIR = 7;
const int M2PWM = 6;

// parameters
const int deadzone = 20;  //anything between -20 and 20 is stop

void setup() {

//configure pins
  pinMode(M1SLP, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(M1DIR, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(M1PWM, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(M2SLP, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(M2DIR, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(M2PWM, OUTPUT);

//Enable motor driver
  digitalWrite(M1SLP, HIGH);
  digitalWrite(M2SLP, HIGH);

}

void loop() {

//read pulse width from receiver
  int ch_4 = pulseIn(CH_4_PIN, HIGH, 25000);

// convert to PWM value (-255 to 255)
  ch_4 = pulseToPWM(ch_4);

// drive motor
  drive(ch_4, ch_4);

delay(5);
}

// postive for forward, negative for reverse
void drive(int speed_a, int speed_b)  {

//limit speed between -255 and 255
  speed_a = constrain(speed_a, -255, 255);
  speed_b = constrain(speed_b, -255, 255);

// set direction for M1
  if ( speed_a == 0)  {