Dual VNH5019 Single Channel

Greetings!

So I picked up a project that I have been enjoying and breezing through until it came to controlling a DC motor with the Arduino. I am using an Arduino Uno with the Pololu Dual Motor shield remapped for a single channel. All the remap adjustments were made according to the user’s guide. My boards currently are set up with a test motor and I’m only using M1 for an output into a DPDT to reverse polarity on the motor. I am very new to this so it’s likley that I’m missing something stupid obvious.

My problem is that the motor is too fast so i tried this template which was also listed in the user’s guide.

#include "DualVNH5019MotorShield.h"
// configure library with pins as remapped for single-channel operation
// this lets the single motor be controlled as if it were "motor 1"
DualVNH5019MotorShield md(2, 7, 6, A0, 2, 7, 12, A1);
void setup()
{
md.init();
// remaining setup code goes here
}
void loop()
{
// loops endlessly; main loop goes here
// the following code is a simple example:
md.setM1Speed(200); // single-channel motor full-speed "forward"
}

This doesn’t seem to slow my motor. I can set it to 400 and get full speed, I can set it to 0 and get it to stop but I can’t seem to get anything between.I just want one slow paced speed. Also I’m not very clear what the line //remaining setup code goes here… is referring too.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Hello.

Could you tell me more about your setup? What happens when you try to set a speed between 0 and 400? How do you have things connected? Could you post a wiring diagram and pictures of your setup?

By the way, you should be able to change the direction of the motor using the motor driver by setting the speed to a negative value. Is there another reason you are using a DPDT switch?

- Grant

Hey Grant. Sorry for the delay and thanks for your response. I have since figured out how I will be slowing the motor.

void setup()
{
  pinMode (2, OUTPUT);