Dual Serial Motor Controller-Individual Motor Control issue

Motor Controller: Low-Voltage Dual Serial Motor Controller
Micro Controller: Basic Stamp 2
Desired Operation: 2 motor mode, default motor numbers
Motors: Tamiya 70168
Power: Motor: Power 2 - 1.5v AA / Micro/Motor Controller – 5v regulated on Basic Stamp Homework Board
Wiring Deviations: 0.1uF capacitors aren’t installed

Hello,

I am new to motor/microcontrollers and have been experiencing difficulty controlling two motors independently. The motors will only respond to the following commands.

If I use 1 as the motor number both motors turn in one direction.

SEROUT 0, 84, [$80, 0, 1, 127]

If I use 0 as the motor number both motors turn in the opposite direction.

SEROUT 0, 84, [$80, 0, 0, 127]

I tried using the default motor numbers and others (0-20) just for testing with no luck.

I am fairly sure I am the cause of the problem since I didn’t read the documentation all the way through. I started by issuing the configuration command at the start of my test program:

SEROUT 0, 84,[$80,2,2]
LOW 2 'reset motor controller
HIGH 2
PAUSE 100

I also had a return statement at the end of my test program which would cause the application to loop.

I figured it would be a good idea to start from scratch but I am having some trouble getting there. Does anyone have a BS2 script to erase the motor controller eeprom and reset the factory defaults?

Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Eric

Hello.

It sounds like your motor controller got set to single-motor mode. Your SEROUT 0, 84, [$80, 2, 2] line should restore the defaults. If you run that without the immediate reset, do you see the LEDs flash in the expected fashion? After that, you should get individual motor control.

- Jan

Hi Jan,

Thank you for the quick response. If I run the script below, I get a solid green LED and motor connected to M1± starts running.

’ {$STAMP BS2}
’ {$PBASIC 2.5}

SEROUT 0, 84,[$80,2,2]
END