Dual MC33887 Motor Driver Carrier Pins

In this picture
pololu.com/picture/view/0J433
could someone tell me what the + and - just below and to the right of the pololu logo are for? Are they digital logic hi and lo (+5v, and gnd)? I thought that the G was digital logic ground, which if I understand correctly is tied to the supply ground as well.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Hello.

The + pin is connected to V+ and the - pin is connected to ground (GND). These pins are available for connecting an additional power capacitor, which could improve performance if your power supply is poor or far from the motor driver. However, the two surface-mount power capacitors (the big silver cylinders on either side of these pins) are typically sufficient.

- Ben

Good to know. I am kinda new to this stuff. Would that be for say a 0.1uF cap. Kinda the standard DC line buffer stuff?

Also In reading the data sheet I dont know that I understand what the purpose of the freewheeling mode is or how I would incorporate it in use. I will be signaling the driver with an Arduino mega. Can I just tell it to drive the motors one direction and then the other without ill effect? Or do I have to wait for them to effectively come to stop before driving them the other direction? Or is this to prevent back emf if I were to stop driving the motors and the momentum of the device continued to drive it forward?

While it is separately a good idea to put 0.1 uF caps on your motors to limit the affect of motor noise on your logic, the appropriate power capacitor for those through-hole pads would be tens or hundreds of uF. The two surface-mount caps already there are each 47 uF. The point of these caps is to keep the power supply stable through the large fluctuations that a motor can introduce.

There are two main ways you can use this motor driver: