DRV8833 Dual Motor Driver Carrier-Input and Output voltage

Hi,

I intend to use DRV8833 Dual Motor Driver Carrier to drive Maxon A-max 19 DC brushed motor of 2.4V nominal voltage and 2A peak current.

Some questions about DRV8833:
(1) Can I use analog input for AIN1 and AIN2 as the reference input to drive the motor? (The voltage of the signal input can be varied between ±10V)

(2) If I supply VIN with 5V, how do the AOUT1 and AOUT2 function according to AIN1 and AIN2? I understand that for DRV8833 the input high voltage for the logic pin is minimum 2V, if I supply AIN1 with 2V and AIN2 grounded, does that mean i will get AOUT1 = 2V and AOUT2= 0V?

p.s: I am new to H-bridge and motor driver. :wink:

Thanks,
CK

Hello, CK.

No, those pins are digital inputs with a recommended maximum voltage range of -0.3 to 5.75 V.

The truth table on page 8 of the datasheet explains how the driver inputs affect the outputs. Basically, you can use the inputs to turn the outputs on or off. When the are on, the full motor supply voltage, VIN, is output in the direction corresponding with the inputs. You can control the motor speed by rapidly turning the outputs on and off, which is usually accomplished by supplying a PWM signal to the inputs. For example, if you hold AIN1 low and alternate between driving AIN2 high for 25 us and low for 25 us, you are effectively supplying the motor with half the VIN voltage. The percentage of the PWM cycle that the outputs are active is called the “duty cycle”, and the output voltage will effectively be the duty cycle * VIN.

You might this wikipedia article on H-bridges helpful in understanding how this driver works.

- Ben

Hi Ben,

Thanks for your helpful reply. That’s clear a lot of my doubts about the motor driver chip.

I am actually looking for a driver for my Maxon motor running on 2.4V nominal voltage and 1A cont. current.