DRV8833 and torque

Hello.

I have a problem with the DRV8833 driver. I want to use a 3.6v (6Nm torque) screwdriver motor that uses an 18650 battery (3.7v and 2000mAh capacity). With the original plate of the screwdriver I move the mechanism I want to move perfectly, but using the same motor and battery with the DRV8833 I don’t move it (in fact I stop it with my hand).

Measuring with the voltmeter I see that the voltage and the current that reaches the motor are similar in both cases. I’m sorry for my ignorance (I’m new to this) and I understand that it will be the fault of the driver… but what is the reason that it loses so much torque with the DRV8833? What driver would be worth it? I have tried with other drivers (L298N and TB6612) and the same thing happens.

Hello.

Does the motor move at all in your setup with the DRV8833, or does it move but can be stopped with less torque than you expect? Can you post some pictures of your setup that show all of your connections along with the program you are using to test the driver?

You might also try checking if your motor performs as expected if you just connect it directly to your battery (i.e. remove the motor driver from the system).

- Patrick

Hello.

Thanks @PatrickM.I will try to give all the information. I put some photos of the original circuit of the screwdriver and mine with some measurements.

This is the original circuit with voltage and current measurement. Impossible to stop the engine by hand.

This is mine with DRV8833 and measurements. I stop it with my hand. In fact (and I really don’t understand this) there are times when it makes a noise but the motor doesn’t work. This happens normally, but when I measure the current by putting the voltmeter in the circuit, it works.

The resistance of the motor stopped and disconnected gives me 1.6 ohm.

The motor installed with the battery only works well and has the original torque (6Nm), the problem is whenever I put a driver like the DRV8833 on it.