DRV8833 and TB6612FNG motor controllers direct replacements for L298N

Hello folks,

I’m new to electronics and even newer to Arduino but would like to attempt a simple Arduino object avoiding robot (2 wheels). Most of the Instructables, etc. show the L298N as the motor controller. I have read this is a really old design and even with a heat sink it’s prone to overheating and drains the battery more than needed so I’m hoping one of these will be a better option. The project will most likely be powered by a 9V battery but maybe less (definitely not more).

Can the DRV8833 and TB6612FNG motor controllers be used as direct replacements (other than possible code changes) for the L298N or is something extra needed? If these are a direct swap is there one that is more efficient than the other? Is there anything else to consider with these? Or is there another controller beyond these that will work?

If you need more info about the project let me know. I haven’t fully mapped out the project as there are a few Instructables and other similar projects I am reviewing and they are all slightly different in their builds.

Thanks.!

Hello, TechGirl.

When selecting a driver, it is important to consider your operating voltage as well as the max current draw you expect from your motors. We generally recommend using a motor driver that can handle the stall current of your motor continuously.

If you are looking for a direct replacement, you are probably concerned about the interface as well. The L298n is typically used with 1 PWM signal to set the speed and 2 digital signals to set the direction (per motor channel). So, the TB6612FNG carrier is probably the most direct replacement in this regard. The DRV8833 carrier uses 2 PWM signal per motor channel, which together control the speed and direction.