DRV8825 NEMA17 Motor

I’m relatively new to stepper motor use. I’m using the Pololu DRV8825 driver with an Adafruit NEMA17 stepper motor. The example code and circuits using minimum connections and hard-wiring of the mode pins work fine on both an Arduino Nano and a Raspberry Pi 4. The stepper motor is being used to move a small camera for photography of mineral specimens. Typically, it moves and there may be several minutes delay while I take photos during which the stepper motor isn’t being used but obviously heats up quite a bit. My question is: What is the best way to turn off the power to the motor while it’s not needed, I.e., connecting /using the EN pin, SLEEP pin, or both or something else? (Exact Position holding during the power off is not critical to me as I control the camera focus thru a cable to the camera itself.)
Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Hello.

The DRV8825 driver essentially has 3 options for de-energizing the motor: nRESET, nENBL, and nSLEEP. You can find a description of the differences in the driver’s datasheet, which is linked to under the “Resources” tab of the DRV8825 carrier’s product page.

For the application you descibred, you could probably just use the nEN pin, which disables the output to the stepper motor and ignores inputs on the STEP pin. nSLP would probably work too, as it also disables the output, but it also puts the rest of the board in a low-power sleep state. In either case, the stepper motor will not be holding its position, but it might twitch or move to a slightly different step position when you energize it again; in our tests, using the nEN pin had smaller jumps, but that could depend on your particular motor and other driver settings. There is more discussion about that here.