Drive-Brake Operation for VNH5019

Hello

Beginner here. Noted that the VNH5019 dual_vnh5019_motor_driver_shield.pdf (911.9 KB) motor shield can be configured to drive-brake operation. Currently the equipment I’m using is a 6v,3.3aH lead acid battery from unicell, an Arduino Uno(328P) and the 2 motors are from Pololu - 47:1 Metal Gearmotor 25Dx64L mm LP 6V with 48 CPR Encoder (No End Cap). I have connected the jumper ON from page 10 of the PDF attached. Searching past forums got me useful info but raises slightly more questions for a beginner like myself.

According to the user guide of the VNH5019 motor shield, it states clearly that I will have to connect physically a jumper wire of both MxPWM pins to Vcc and simply provide PWM to MxINA/B pins. Below is the edits I’ve made to the library for my needs.

The edits are assuming:

1. I will not be moving in reverse direction.
  2. No need for current sense pins.
  3. Drive-Brake

My main question is whether I have done the changes to enable drive-brake operation properly. Is it even possible? Would like to seek clarification on this. Thanks in advance.

DualVNH5019MotorShield.cpp

#include "DualVNH5019MotorShield.h"

// Constructors ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

DualVNH5019MotorShield::DualVNH5019MotorShield()
{
  //Pin map
  _INA1 = 2; // pin operates at ~490Hz
  _INB1 = 4; // pin operates at ~490Hz
  _EN1DIAG1 = 6;
  //_CS1 = A0; 
  _INA2 = 7; // pin operates at ~490Hz
  _INB2 = 8; // pin operates at ~490Hz
  _EN2DIAG2 = 12;
  //_CS2 = A1;
}

// DualVNH5019MotorShield::DualVNH5019MotorShield(unsigned char INA1, unsigned char INB1, unsigned char EN1DIAG1, unsigned char CS1, 
                                               // unsigned char INA2, unsigned char INB2, unsigned char EN2DIAG2, unsigned char CS2)
// {
  // //Pin map
  // //PWM1 and PWM2 cannot be remapped because the library assumes PWM is on timer1
  // _INA1 = INA1;
  // _INB1 = INB1;
  // _EN1DIAG1 = EN1DIAG1;