Controlling 75:1 Metal Gearmotor 25Dx54L mm HP 6V with 48 CPR Encoder

Hello, I am new to motors with encoders, and am having an issue controlling my new 75:1 Metal Gearmotor 25Dx54L mm HP 6V with 48 CPR Encoder. I am using an Arduino and the DRV8835 Dual Motor Driver Carrier. I have connected the motor, Arduino, and power supply to the motor controller following the wiring diagram. Currently I am just trying to control the motor (without any encoding functionality; the only wires that are connected are the red and black wires) using a simplified version of the sample code for this motor controller (https://github.com/pololu/drv8835-motor-shield) (I just changed it so that motor 1 would turn on and off every 5 seconds). However, when the motor is supposed to be on, I only hear a high pitched hum. I have tried various speeds, but there is always the same result (the hum is most noticeable, as expected, at high speeds). I tested my program by connecting a different motor without an encoder, and it worked exactly as I expected. Is there some limitation to using PWM with a motor with an encoder? I would appreciate any help, as I am very lost as to what is going wrong.

Thank you!

I also want to add that when I connect the motor directly to the power supply, I can successfully control the speed of the motor by increasing or decreasing the voltage.

Upon further research, I suspect that the motor controller is my issue - it can only supply 1.5 amps at peak, while the motor will pull about 6.5 when it tries to start. I will attempt tomorrow with a larger motor controller and provide an update. If there are any other issues with my setup, I would greatly appreciate feedback. Thanks!

Hello.