Control a stepper motor with just an A4988 and power supplies?

OK - complete noob here. New to steppers and practical electronics a bit rusty.

I’m building a cnc machine using nema 17s. I’m building the engineering hardware first and \i want to test each axis as I make it with a stepper. I’m not ready to develop the electronics side of the project yet.

So, all I want to do is simply and cheaply turn a nema 17 at full speed (200 steps) in either direction with as little extra hardware as possible.

I read somewhere if you keep STEP high it will operate the stepper continuously like a DC motor. Is that true?

Hello.

No, that is not true. On the A4988, each transition from low to high on the STEP input advances the stepper motor one step. So, keeping STEP high will result in the stepper motor remaining stationary. The coils will still be energized, however, so the output shaft will try to hold its position.

For a simple way to test your stepper motors, you might be interested in our Tic stepper motor controllers, which are general-purpose modules for controlling stepper motors through a variety of control interfaces, like USB for direct connection to a computer.

-Jon

Now THIS looks interesting…
May I ask a couple of extra questions?

Of the 6 you show, only 1 says terminal blocks and headers are ready soldered - are two of your descriptions wrong (I dont want to do any soldering if possible!)

Does your software allow for continuous rotation and will it run on windows 10?

I can’t quite see the practical difference between the 3 types. All can be USB controlled, but there are slight differences in input voltage and maximum current - is that all?

Please could you advise me on the best for my purpose? I will pc control via usb, don’t want to solder, will be using nema 17s (I added the spec below), and I’ll probably power it with a 5V mobile phone charger.

Thanks!

Motor type: Bipolar Stepper
Motor Length: 40mm
Phase Resistance: 1.5Ohm
Phase Inductance: 2.8mH