Code to vary Dual MC33926 motor shield speeds with potentiometer

I’m an Arduino novice and trying to do something which I feel should be really simple, but having no luck.
I’m trying to write a sketch that allows me to vary the speed of Motor 1 in one direction with a potentiometer.

The wiper of the pot is wired to Analog input 3, one side to ground and the other to 5V on the arduino.

The Demo sketch uploads and runs fine, so I know the Arduino and the Pololu shield are running fine

My sketch here verifies and uploads but I’m obviously missing something because the motor does not respond to the pot.

Thanks in advance for your help
T

// Speed control potentiometers

int SpeedControl1 = A3;  
int SpeedControl2 = A4;

//Pin map

int  _nD2 = 4;
int  _M1DIR = 7;
int  _M1PWM = 9;
int  _M2DIR = 8;
int  _M2PWM = 10;
int  _nSF = 12;
int  _M1FB = A0;
int  _M2FB = A1;

int speed = 0;

// Public Methods //////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

void setup()

{

// Set all the motor control pins to outputs
// Define pinMode for the pins and set the frequency for timer1.

pinMode(_M1DIR,OUTPUT);
  pinMode(_M1PWM,OUTPUT);
  pinMode(_M2DIR,OUTPUT);
  pinMode(_M2PWM,OUTPUT);
  pinMode(_nD2,OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(_nD2,HIGH); // default to on
  pinMode(_nSF,INPUT);

}

void loop() {

_M1PWM = analogRead(SpeedControl1); 
  _M2PWM = analogRead(SpeedControl2);

// Set speed for motor 1, speed is a number betwenn -400 and 400

analogWrite(_M1PWM,speed * 51 / 80); // map 400 to 255
    }

Hello.

It seems like you are confusing the variables you are using to store your pin numbers and the variable you are using for the speed value. For example, the first line of your loop is storing your analog reading from the potentiometer into _M1PWM, which already contains your value for the M1PWM pin number. I think you intended to use the speed variable you made instead.