Code for creating PWM with Baby Orangutan 328p

g’day.
i purchased a Baby Orangutan 328p to power a small robot for a university project, but managed to fry the H bridge due to a dodgey motor that was pulling over 1.6A constant jst to get it turning. so i have resorted to buying a higher power H bus, but would like to know if there is an easy way to create a pulse width modulation using the internal clock of the chips processor. if someone could point me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated. i could probably work out a round about way of creating one with a load of while, for and if statements, but as i am relatively new to programming my code would be long and cumbersome. any pre-made code would be awesome.

Thanks for any help.

I am using the Atmega328p baby-o in combination with the 18V25CS motor driver.

The original code comes from the pololu resources of the 168LV controller and is called demo3

I use timer 2 for generating pwm

Setting up the timer:

TCCR2A = 0xF3; // set OCxx on compare match, clear at TOP with WGM02=0, select fast PWM, TOP=0xFF
TCCR2B = 0x02; // WGM02=0, timer clock = IO clk / 8 => PMW freq = 20MHz/8/256 = 9.77 kHz
OCR2A = 0; OCR2B = 0; // set duty cycles initially for brake

Setting up the outputs:

DDRB  |=  (1 << DDB3); // drive pin high, motor output M2A 
PORTB |=  (1 << DDB3); // Set pin as output
DDRD  |=  (1 << DDD3); // Set pin as output 
PORTD |=  (1 << DDD3); // drive pin high, motor output M2B

Giving the output a value:

OCR2A = pwm; // give pwm a value between 0 and 255 and there you have your pwm

awesome! thanks heaps. i’ll give this a go :slight_smile: