Can you help me to validate my project

Hi all!

I’m a French beginner in robot building. I work actually on this project: a little robot with IA in UMPC (viliv S5) developed in Java language and this java application pilot an arduino uno itself pilots the chassis and motor of my robot. (For information my robot must only go forward/backward and turn right/left) I have very good skills in application development but I don’t have big skill in electronic. :open_mouth:

For the chassis I want to use the lynxmotion Terminator lynxmotion.com/p-41-terminat … onics.aspx
The lynxmotion Terminator chassis is delivered with 12v motor 50:1… See specs here lynxmotion.com/images/data/ghm02.pdf

I want use motor speed controller (and not wheels encoders) and i want use the pololu Pololu TReX Dual Motor Controller DMC01 and connect each couple of motors in parallel. Like this (I have produce I little schemas): darylrobotproject.files.wordpres … /daryl.jpg

1st question: You think this is good solution to connect each couple of motors in parallel? You think that Pololu TReX Dual Motor Controller DMC01 is well adapted to my motors and my project?

2sd question: I already use serial port of my arduino uno in order to communicate with my java application. I see that rx/tx on Trex is the easier solution to control the motors from arduino. But i can control my motors speed from arduino pwm pins? I have understood that in this case it was necessary to use RC mode. That is correct?

3rd question: In case I should use RC mode, i must connect the arduino pwm pin to RC channel 1 pin (white in your pdf) and ground only correct? (not +5v because it use to give +5v to RC controler). Correct?
I have see how to reverse easily direction of the motor with the serial rxtx mode, but how work reverse with RC mode?